Happy New Year πŸ₯³

Dear Void,

I can’t believe it’s already another year.. It feels like no time has passed and yet when I look back, what happened at the beginning seems like an age ago.

This year, like any other year has had its ups and downs but I always find it very heartening to see that it’s the good that stands out in the end. The year has been filled with meeting family, laughing with friends, focusing on writing and entering competitions and coming out with good results. Looking back, I really do think meeting family has been the biggest thing, with lots of them visiting us and our trip to India seeing all my cousins.

Bookwise, I am proud to report that I’ve read 80 books out of my 50 intended challenge!! New favourites have been:

  • Stalking Jack the Ripper series by Kerri Macinsalo
  • Ann Liang books (her books are pure serotonin)
  • Babel by R.F Kuang
  • 1994 by George Orwell
  • And a bunch of sequels that have come out

TV-wise I have binged Gossip Girl and it is a bit stupid but in the best way possible and highly addictive. I realised after that that I could not get into any other long series till exams are over. I also watched Anne with an E which is now one of my favourites and I might make a separate post for it! I’ve also watched a bunch of movies that I can’t remember of which a lot kof it are Bollywood! (OH, Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes -AMAZING!!!)

Anyway, as we welcome 2024, I’m terrified of my mock exams, my GCSE exams, entering A-Levels, but I’m also excited for what all of it holds. So here’s to a year which will probably be filled with studying (and sooo not procrastination) but also unforgettable experiences!

Goodbye 2023,

~Zahra

11 responses to “Happy New Year πŸ₯³”

  1. Helloo!
    Happy New year Zahra! ✨🌻
    “I always find it very heartening to see that it’s the good that stands out in the end” this is so wise yet true. Till yesterday night, I was mourning and moping because I wasted so much time but as you know, going for that drive and visiting my family really put things into perspective.

    I’m so glad that you’ve had a wholesome year! And reading 80 books is wonderful!!
    Ooh, gossip girl and Anne with an E sounds amazing, I’ve always wanted to watch it, but I’m going no TV shows atleast till summer..

    You’ve started to become so relatable, like you’ve GCSE’s and A-levels, we struggle with boards and pre boards😭. And it’s freaking near. From mid Feb.
    So wishing you the best with all those tests, I’m sure you’ll ace them. Btw, watch Unjaded Jade on YT (her older videos, it helps with GCSE’s)
    Lots of love❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg Niv, THIS comment made MY dayπŸ₯ΉπŸ₯Ή

      I know, in the moment when you’re in the moping mood it feels like it’s gonna last forever but then.. not so much and I’m glad it happened for you tooπŸ™ƒπŸ™ƒ

      Thank you!! Yes you definitely should!! I’m saving Gilmore Girls for the summer bc if I started it now there would be no productivity happening so I get your plan too 😁

      Yesss I totally see your struggle too!! Omg, I wish you all the best!! My mocks start end of Jan!
      Thank you I will definitely check her out!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad❀️😊
        Yes, beware of tv showsπŸ˜‚ esp Gilmore girls.
        Thank you!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good warning πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Zahra…I’m Anya
    Happy New year ✨….I really enjoyed reading your post and all the best for your upcoming tests ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anya!
      Happy New Year to you too and thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. happy new year!!! seems like you had such an amazing year, i’ve been meaning to get around to watching gossip girl but UGH i just haven’t had the time!! oh i LOVE anne with an e, and i’m forever looking for TV shows that mriror its nostalgic, yet entertaining vibe… great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year to you too!! Haha it was definitely not one of the worst πŸ™‚ How was your year??
      You really should watch Gossip Girl -my advice would be to watch it in the summer AND NOT during school to use as an excuse for procrastination as I myself may or may not have done πŸ™ˆπŸ˜¬
      Aahh yayyy!! I’m so mad at Netflix for cancelling it!! And yes to nostalgic + entertaining πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 1994 by George Orwell has been on my reading list for such a long time. I am going to read it this year, probably.

    Anyway, Happy New Year Zahra!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess! You should definitely read it. Although there are some parts that I didn’t really like it is overall so so thought provoking and a-must-read-once-in-a-life-time book !!

      Happy new year to you tooo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started