The Life of a Year 11

Dear Void (an empty place?*),

My brother recently mentioned that the only things I now do are study, read, and watch TV (and write! Which I’ve been doing much more of recently which I am very happy about yayy!) and it got me thinking. Is this the life of a year 11? The movies never have the life of a boring 15 year old so let my blog narrate that to you 😉Here’s me breaking down what I’ve been doing 

Study

Well, apart from getting a test date on my first day of school, I have gotten many more as the days roll on and it has not been fun. I have also gotten my final GCSE dates and it seems far but also so very near so that is one conundrum my brain is going through and the best way to get past it? Denial ✨✨

Anyway, during my study endeavours I have found a new app called Flora and it may have just saved my life. It is one of those apps that you put a timer on for studying and I cannot go out of that app but the fun part about Flora is that it grows a tree when I’m studying and if I exit the app the poor tree will DIE. Hence making it infinitely more important that I let the tree fully grow!! (I promise this isn’t paid -although I wish it was) Anyway I have grown roses, maple trees, oak trees and wait for it… An IceCream Banana tree. Yes. At first look I laughed and thought there were imaginary plants part of it but upon some internet sleuthing I found out they’re real. And they’re blue. And apparently they taste like ice cream. GO SEARCH THESE BLUE BANANAS UP!! I don’t even like bananas but I have a weakness for the “blue” and “icecream” which means now I immediately NEED to taste one. 

Reading & Writing

I am reading “The Golden Enclaves” which is book three of The Scholomance which is a kind of dark academia book about magical people sent to this school without teachers or anything but a lot of monsters. That happens to be a horrible explanation but sums it up pretty much. It’s good, but I don’t think I would reread it – but definitely worth reading once. As for writing I have finished up an English Imaginative Writing coursework which I really loved and therefore entered it in a competition which the results only come out in MARCH NEXT YEAR -how am I supposed to wait *that* long!!! I am also entering this essay competition which the very philosophical question is “Should people who care about the long-term future focus on reducing the risk of human extinction, or instead on trying to make the world go better in futures where humanity survives a long time?” So I’ve been doing a bunch of research on that which means more reading BUT PLEASE COMMENT YOUR THOUGHTS SO THAT I HAVE MORE STIMULATING IDEAS THAT I CAN WRITE ABOUT.

Watching

I have started Gossip Girls which is very interesting and kinda addictingly dumb with rich people and high school and lots more drama which I am continuously watching in between all the other stuff. I am ALSO rewatching Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham for any other Bollywood watchers because it is my comfort movie and I love it!! 

*The void may have previously been an empty space but now it is not so lonely, filled with my inconsequential letters. But does that mean that my blog *is* the void which would mean the name would be “void” because otherwise it would be a void called “letters to the void” which kind of makes absolutely no sense. Wow I missed writing these absolutely nonsensical definitions where I really don’t know what I’m talking about.

p.s I’m enjoying gossip girls but also I am so regretting starting it now because it just means more to balance for me! Why couldn’t I have started it in the holidays???

p.p.s I’m going to try do a once a week letter since that seems much more manageable 💪

6 responses to “The Life of a Year 11”

  1. “The movies never have the life of a boring 15 year old so let my blog narrate that to you” I LOVE THAT OKAY. SO SO MUCH. WHY DONT BOOKS AND MOVIES PORTRAY A NORMAL HUMAN’S LIFE MORE? but omg THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN TO READ. im so sorry about all the test dates AND FREAKING OUT TESTS SUCK BUT I HOPE YOU GET THROUGH THEM. flora actually sounds VERY VERY EFFICIENT I MUST?? CHECK IT OUT?? look i laughed over the ice cream banana trees too when you first mentioned them BUT THEY’RE REAL?? HGFDGHFDGH WHAT. would totally make it my life mission to search for one and try it IF I WEREN’T CURRENTLY KNEE DEEP IN SCHOOL WORK, BUT ONE DAY. (i mean,,,, fruits that taste like ice cream okay. I WILL NEVER EAT ANYTHING ELSE) good luck on all your essays and assignments too THE TOPIC SOUNDS SO FASCINATING I KIND OF WANT TO READ YOUR PAPER.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AAAAH THANK YOU!!!! Rightttt it always starts just after the boring part is over! But like I get it: the boring part is simply boring lol!! Flora IS very efficient and it’s sooo good. OMG SAAAAMEEE!! We will embark on our mission together after escaping the school work!!!!!

      Like

  2. ohmygosh.
    I cannot relate more. You’re taking GCSE this year? I’m also taking a similar test this school year so every.single.month is tests, mocks, revision and scores. It’s been fun actually.
    I feel like that a LOT too, I like to think that I read, draw, write, study, play, do stuff at school equally, but that’s far from truth. Rn, I’m binging kabhi khushi kabhi gham as well. 😂 Yess, I wish there was a comfort movie that portrays normal life of us teens but sadly I haven’t found the one just yet, so I watch Karan Johar films loll😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess I am!! There is literally nothing but studying with maybe a few books inbetween!!
      OH MY GOSH Kabhi Khushi Khabi Gham is my ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE Bollywood movie and may parents are so sick of me rewatching it!! Haha those old Karan Johar films >>>

      Liked by 1 person

  3. flora sounds like such a cute app, im on my way to download it xD

    ALSO gossip girl!! i started watching it during exam season and regretted doing that as well😂🙌 although it gets boring like mid season 2 .. maybe I’ll continue watching and see if it gets better

    ooh, that sounds like an interestIng essay topic. Goodluck with the competition!!

    Like

    1. Haha you totally should!!

      It definitely is not an exam time watch!! Tbh, that’s true but I really liked it I think season 3-5 so maybe you should try just a bit more !

      Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started